ASP.NET Development life after a Vista SP1 installation

Today I was prompted to install Service Pack 1 of Windows Vista on my development machine. "Sure why not, what’s the harm" I thought… Famous last words…

So machine goes through the various stages of re-genesis and restarts a new machine, to the point where I get the following error when I attempt to debug my ASP.NET project…

Unable to start debugging on the web server. Unable to connect to the web server. Verify that the web server is running and that incoming HTTP requests are not blocked by a firewall.

Ok, so what’s the issue.  Hmm.. seems my Web server isn’t running, and according to IIS it won’t start until I start the following services:

  • Windows Process Activation Service
  • World Wide Web Publishing Service

So I start them and get my web server up and running again when I notice… Blam… I’m getting a heap of Javascript errors on my site??? After a little bit of checking I figured out that my .axd files for hosting the dynamic scripts were breaking with the following error:

HTTP Error 500.21 – Internal Server Error

Handler "Reserved.ReportViewerWebControl.axd" has a bad module "ManagedPipelineHandler" in its module list

After some reading on the Internet I discovered this is apparently due to my IIS7 Application Pool being configured for IntegratedPipeline when it needs to be in Classic mode… but this is strange because my site is already in Classic mode… turns out my app was expecting IntegratedPipeline mode (as denoted in the web.config by having handlers with preCondition="integratedMode") but the installation of Vista SP1 had changed it to Classic… weird!! Anyway changed my application pool from IIS Manager and everything started working again…

Here’s the steps to change your Application Pool:

  1. Start IIS manager
  2. Right click on the site you are having issues with and select Advanced Settings…
    image
  3. Select the application pool with the appropriate Pipeline mode for your web.config
    image

 

Oh dear, hope this helps someone else (and my time wasn’t wasted figuring this out)…

Here’s some useful reading on the subject:

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

