Use of the flux capacitor causes ‘ASP.NET Ajax client-side framework failed to load.’

Our company is preparing for a move of hosting companies from Brisbane to the U.S. Whilst working with the Beta server I hit a snag… ASP.NET Ajax kept giving me a JavaScript error on one of our apps. I knew this was an issue with loading the ScriptResource.axd files from the server, but what was confusing me was that another application in another virtual directory of the same web site was using this AJAX stuff and working perfectly.

After using Fiddler2 to see the real problem with loading the ScriptResource.axd, i saw that the response contained this error message:

Specified argument was out of the range of valid values. Parameter name: utcDate

So after a lot of Googling dead-ends I finally found an article titled ScriptResource.axd and assemblies built in the future which explains the issue. Essentially my mistake was that I had incorrectly been using the Flux capacitor as a part of my build process and had been building the binaries about 20 hours in the future, my bad…

The way I resolved this issue was to not Zip up my binaries before FTP’ing them up to the server so that the FTP server would reset the created and modified dates. Issue fixed…

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

