Windows Media Player 11 – Resuming from Pause giving an error

I’ve been using my notebook as my main Media Player (mainly because all my music is on it). I noticed that if I was pausing a song in Windows Media Player 11 when I click to continue playing it would error on the current song and skip to the next one? This, I thought, was very strange, but of course I knew it had to be the fault of something to do with Vista’s new Audio stack, so I went searching through various control panel dialogs to do with my audio device where I found the culprit:

image

Un-ticking the "Allow applications to take exclusive control of this device" fixed the issue.

This can be found like by going Start -> Control Panel -> Hardware and Sound -> Sound -> Playback Tab -> (Select "Speakers") -> Properties -> Advanced…. Now that was easy to find wasn’t it?

EDIT: This didn’t fix the problem, the error still happens but only after the song has been paused for at least a minute or two… I’m stumped…

  1. #1 by Zac on September 25, 2008 - 9:44 pm

    hello i have the same problem and no idea on how to stop it. its especially annoying since i have mainly 1hours mixes on my pc

  2. #2 by george on October 28, 2008 - 4:08 pm

    Hello,
    I may have found a slight solution to this error. I\’ve been experiencing this strange issue as well, but it has come to my attention that this pause
    error with Windows Media Player has been happening with .mp3 audio files / (and maybe other formats). Usually, my songs are in .mp3 format, and I play it with Windows Media Player, but I also have some songs in regular .wma and the files with .wma work perfectly. I can leave a .wma file paused for 1 hour and nothing will happen; it will resume normally.What you guys think? This is really strange – I hope we can get a fix to this through Microsoft. If I find something, I\’ll be sure to post here.

  3. #3 by Unknown on May 4, 2009 - 9:56 am

    I had this same problem, and it was to do with a corrupt My Music folder. Follow the instructions at http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/why-did-windows-vistas-music-folder-icon-turn-yellow/ and replace the text in the desktop.ini file and the problem should be fixed.

  4. #4 by whatsit on June 19, 2009 - 4:25 pm

    HiI also had the same problem. It seems to have gone away now ever since I changed the sample rate default format. In the picture you have shown on the speaker properties, change your rate from 16 bit,48000 to 24 bit, 192000 Hz (studio Quality). You then need to reboot.After doing that, my music always resumes without error!Adam

Leave a Reply

