SQL Server Reporting Services Web Service and WCF

I’ve been tearing my hair out for about 4 hours trying to figure out why my custom Forms Authentication code for SQL Server 2005 Reporting Services isn’t working properly when using a WCF service as a client.

I kept getting errors like "AccessDeniedException" for user = "".

I would call the service like this:

_serviceClient = new Reports.ReportingService2005SoapClient();
Reports.LogonUserRequest request = new Reports.LogonUserRequest();
request.userName = Credentials.UserName;
request.password = Credentials.Password;
request.authority = Credentials.ModuleKey;
Reports.LogonUserResponse response = _serviceClient.LogonUser(request);

Reports.FindItemsRequest findRequest = new Reports.FindItemsRequest("/", 
Reports.BooleanOperatorEnum.Or, new List<Reports.SearchCondition>()); Reports.FindItemsResponse findResponse = _serviceClient.FindItems(request);

The LogonUser() request would work fine, but the subsequent request would fail because the Username wasn’t found.

I finally figured  out that WCF wasn’t persisting the cookies between requests, an issue I quickly corrected by adding allowCookies="true" to my Binding config.

<binding name="ReportingService2005Soap" maxReceivedMessageSize="1000000" 
allowCookies="true"> <security mode="None"> <transport clientCredentialType="None" proxyCredentialType="None" realm="" /> <message clientCredentialType="UserName" algorithmSuite="Default" /> </security> </binding>

Silly me for thinking WCF would manage my cookies by default (like it did with .NET 2.0 Web References), nope I have to turn it on… There’s 4 hours of my life I’ll never get back!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

