The Short Answer

I realised something today, usually people just want the short answer. Sometimes when I’m asked a question regardless of the topic, if it’s something I’m interested in i’ll go into detail about it and inevitably they will become disinterested in what I’m saying. I’ve noticed this happening a lot lately and I’m starting to wonder if I ever actually have anything interesting to say? The burden of being a geek is sometimes the disconnection from those around you. Everything on the face of it seems fine but inside you’re looking for something else to fill your waking thoughts. What can be done with all these hours of idle brain time? I think I need a distraction… maybe I’ll take up chess 😉
(just kidding)

  1. #1 by Natalie on October 19, 2005 - 8:26 pm

    No dude, it\’s not because you\’re a geek – it\’s because you\’re your Mother\’s son!!! We all have the same affliction (except Dad, who\’s way too passive to compete for some space in the conversation!) I am all too familiar with being asked a question and told, when I am preparing to reply, to provide \’the short answer\’.We\’re thinkers and story tellers – what can I say, it\’s hereditary. I blame Mum…

  2. #2 by Unknown on October 23, 2005 - 9:59 pm

    just a wild guess, but i think a nice XBOX 360 with a copy of PGR3 will do you just fine. or me!

  3. #3 by Unknown on November 24, 2005 - 8:57 pm

    Hahaha, it\’s so true…what Nat said.I have to tell Mum that I only want a one-sentence-answer, because most of the time that is all that\’s required. Before she begins I explain that elaboration is not necessary because then it\’s so damn hard to leave the room!! By the time I get out of there I\’ve forgotten what the answer to my question was!! I haven\’t picked it up in you or Nat though, I hope it\’s not hereditary.Liv 🙂

Leave a Reply

